TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize (4,000 USD Cash Award)

Fellowship in Environment , in Sustainable Development
  • Apply Before : May 10, 2024

Opportunity Details

  • Opportunity ID 7329
  • Degree Non Degree Program/Certificate
  • Language Requirement Not Required
  • Fields of study Sustainability
  • Opportunity Type : Fully Funded
  • Gender Female
  • Language of Instruction English
  • Application Fee Required No

Opportunity Description

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) offers an annual cash prize for TWAS – Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize for scientists from least developed countries (LDCs). The award is named after and supported by TWAS Fellow Professor Samira Omar.

For 2024, female scientists from the least developed countries working in areas relevant to sustainability can apply for this prize, which is worth 4000 USD.


Application Deadline: 10 May 2024

Prize Value: USD 4,000

Target Applicants: Only women

Eligible Countries:Least Developed Countries (LDCs)

Field eligible: Sustainability

Organizer: World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)

Thematic Areas

Those female applicants who gained scientific achievements in any of the following thematic areas and living and working in an LDC during the last two years immediately before their nomination can apply for this fellowship:

  • Green Chemistry for Cleaner Energy Solutions
  • Sustainable agriculture and preserving agrobiodiversity
  • Addressing plastic pollution and degradation, including microplastics
  • Improving water purification and sanitation methods
  • Understanding and mitigating climate change impacts, including methane and carbon capture
  • Developing efficient transportation technologies for smart cities
  • Effective waste management strategies
  • Preserving biodiversity to combat the sixth mass extinction, restore habitats, and protect ecosystem services
  • Promoting ecological economics and planetary health

Additional Guidelines:

    • Award exclusively for women scientists every two years.
    • Self-nominations and nominations from jury members are not accepted.
    • Fellows of TWAS are ineligible.
    • Nominees cannot be considered for multiple TWAS awards in one year.
    • Secretariat may suggest shifting nominations to other awards if appropriate.

Eligible Countries

Following are the UN’s designated 45 LDC countries that are eligible for the TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize:
  1. Afghanistan
  2. Angola
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Benin
  5. Burkina Faso
  6. Burundi
  7. Cambodia
  8. Central African Republic
  9. Chad
  10. Comoros
  11. Democratic Republic of the Congo (the)
  12. Djibouti
  13. Eritrea
  14. Ethiopia
  15. Gambia
  16. Guinea
  17. Guinea-Bissau
  18. Haiti
  19. Kiribati
  20. Lao PDR
  21. Lesotho
  22. Liberia
  23. Madagascar
  24. Malawi
  25. Mali
  26. Mauritania
  27. Mozambique
  28. Myanmar
  29. Nepal
  30. Niger
  31. Rwanda
  32. Sao Tome and Principe
  33. Senegal
  34. Sierra Leone
  35. Solomon Islands
  36. Somalia
  37. South Sudan
  38. Sudan
  39. Tanzania
  40. Timor-Leste
  41. Togo
  42. Tuvalu
  43. Uganda
  44. Yemen
  45. Zambia

Required Documents

Following are the required documents that female nominees should submit:

  • Nominator’s contact details.
  • Nominee’s contact details (self-nominations not accepted) and general information.
  • Authorization from the nominee for data processing (via online platform).
  • Suggested citation (15-20 words highlighting scientific achievements).
  • Supporting statement detailing the nominee’s contribution and scientific impact.
  • A detailed account of the nominee’s time spent abroad in the past two years is needed.
  • PhD information: subject area, year, and awarding institution.
  • Membership in academies and societies (brief information).
  • Awards and honors received (brief information).
  • List of 10 significant publications in an internationally acceptable format.
  • The nominee’s brief CV and complete list of publications are uploaded separately.
  • Nominee’s h-index in Google Scholar and associated citations.

How to Nominate?

Here are the highlights of the Nominating Process:

  • Submit nominations electronically through the online platform linked below.
  • Use the “NEW NOMINATION” button to start a new nomination.
  • Use the “RESUME” button to continue working on saved nominations.


Nominate Now



Visit The World Academy of Science (TWAS) official website for more information about the prize and its eligibility field.


Check More Opportunities:

East-West Center RICE Fellowships 2024 in the United States

TWAS-NCP Postdoctoral Fellowship Program 2024 in Pakistan

TWAS-ICCBS Postgraduate Fellowship Program in Karachi, Pakistan

70 Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships in Canada


Other opportunities you may like