UNESCO and TWAS Academy Awards for Scientists from Developing Countries

Grant / Award in Applied Science
  • Apply Before : March 30, 2020

Opportunity Details

  • Opportunity ID 12351
  • Degree Master

Opportunity Description

TWAS Academy provides nine awards to individual scientists who have been working on particular TWAS-specified academic fields described below and been living in developing countries for a minimum of ten years.

Nomination Deadline: March 16, 2020

TWAS Academy awards the TWAS Awards (previously named ‘TWAS Prizes’) to individual scientists from developing countries in acknowledgment of an exquisite contribution to scientific knowledge in the nine fields of: astronomy and space sciences,  agricultural sciences; biology; chemistry; earth; engineering sciences; mathematics; medical sciences; physics and social sciences* or/and to the application of science and technology to their countries’ sustainable development. The cycle of the TWAS Awards will, following the decision of TWAS Council taken in November 2018, be every two years. Also, the term ‘prize’ was changed to ‘award’ due to UNESCO’s request in the council meeting on November 11, 2019, in China for current and new TWAS awards other than the academy’s medals.

Award and Benefits:

  • TWAS offers nine wards of US$10, 000 worth each in the nine aforementioned scientific fields.
  • Each award is given along with a plaque.
  • Awards by the academy are awarded frequently on a particular occasion, most often simultaneously with the general meeting of TWAS.

Eligibility Criteria:

Prospective candidates for a TWAS Award must be scientists who have been working and living in an eligible developing country for at least ten years before their nomination. Hence they must meet one of the following qualifications:

  • Achievement of scientific research having a significant value about the development of scientific thought/idea.
  • Having an incredible contribution to the advancement and application of technology and science to sustainable development.

Reminder: the exceptional contribution of scientists shall be determined in terms of existing opportunities and realistic likelihoods at candidates” reach. This exception applies specifically to candidates nominating from scientifically disadvantaged nations.


– Member of the academy and candidates for TWAS membership are not qualified for TWAS Award

– Personal nominations will not be regarded, i.e., a nominator should nominate you.

Nominating Guideline:

Applicants are strongly recommended to complete their nomination before March 16 and as early as possible.

  • TWAS is accepting nominations from all its members and also science academies, national research councils, universities, and academic institutions in both developing and developed countries.
  • Candidates’ nominations must be made on the on-line nomination form and clearly state the contribution the candidate has brought to the development of the specific field of science for which the prize would be given.
  • Nominations of women scientists and scientists from scientifically undeveloped countries are particularly encouraged.
  • The re-nomination of a previously unsuccessful candidate will be accepted only if it enjoys fundamentally new elements/criteria for judgment.

To nominate for the award, please follow the instructions below:

  • You can only submit your nominations for ‘TWAS Awards’ electronically through the on-line platform by clicking on the “NEW NOMINATION” option at the bottom of this page.
  • To restart working on saved nominations, click on the “RESUME” button at the bottom of this page.
  • PLEASE PAY UTMOST ATTENTION TO the maximum characters allowed.

A complete nomination entails the following information/material:

  • Nominator’s contact information
  • Nominee’s contact details and general information on the nominee, including his/her country where nominee has been working and living in the last 10 years
  • Scientific field listed above for nominations (only one)
  • Recommended citation (20-25 words highlighting the nominee’s scientific achievements)
  • Supporting statement explaining carefully the work done by the nominee, its significance and reasoning to its outstanding essence.
  • Biographical description of the nominee in a NARRATIVE style. Information on any time the nominee spent abroad in the past ten years is to be obviously provided.
  • Degrees earned
  • Professional appointments
  • Short information on membership in academies and societies
  •  Short information on awards and honors previously received
  • List of 12 most important publications listed in a universally acceptable format.
  • Google Scholar h-index and number of citations
  • Contact details (especially email addresses) of five referees covering a wide geographical coverage, who can be contacted regarding the nominee’s work. It is worth noting that referees reports can only be submitted via the online platform. Please remember that if fewer than three reliable referees’ reports have been received by the deadline fixed by the TWAS Executive Director, the nomination will not be processed. So, Referees should focus on the impact of the nominee’s work in their letter.
  • The nominee’s  CV and her/his complete list of publications also need to be uploaded separately onto the online form (only in pdf format).
  • Nominees’ permission to process his/her personal data for his/her nomination. This authorization can only be submitted through the online platform. Specifically, nominees will be contacted by TWAS through the email address provided in the nomination form and asked to submit online their acceptance by the deadline set.


If you are eligible and interested, take your time and APPLY very soon.

For quick tips, please visit the application guidelines.

Selection Process:

The selection of award winners is made based on scientific decency and also on the recommendations of the selection committee at the academy. The awardees’ names will be announced on the first day of the TWAS General Meeting held in November this year, and they will also be invited to receive their awards and deliver a speech in the 2022 TWAS General Meeting.

Other opportunities you may like