UNESCO-Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2024

Grant / Award in Journalism
  • France
  • Apply Before : February 15, 2024

Opportunity Details

  • Opportunity ID 225145
  • Degree Non Degree Program/Certificate
  • Fields of study Journalism
  • Opportunity Type : Partially Funded
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Language of Instruction EnglishFrench
  • Application Fee Required No

Opportunity Description

Nominations are open for the 2024 UNESCO-Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize. Established in 1997, it annually honors individuals, organizations, or institutions that have demonstrated exceptional commitment to protecting and promoting press freedom worldwide. UNESCO formally conferred the Prize on World Press Freedom Day, which was celebrated on 3 May. Named in memory of Guillermo Cano Isaza, a Colombian journalist assassinated in 1986, the award highlights the importance of press freedom, especially in the face of adversity.

The purpose of the Prize aligns with UNESCO’s policies and is closely connected to the organization’s communication and information program. Specifically, its primary goal is to prioritize creating a supportive environment for the freedom of expression and information, per UNESCO’s overarching goals.

Key Details and Dates

Application Deadline: 15 February 2024

Result Announcement Dates: World Press Freedom Day, 3 May.

Funding Type: Partially Funded

Eligible Countries: Worldwide

Eligible Gender: Male/Female

Focus Area: Journalism and press freedom

Number of Opportunities: One award annually

Award Ceremony: UNESCO’s headquarters in Paris, France

Target Group:

  • Individuals
  • Organizations
  • institutions

Organizer: The Prize is organized and conferred by UNESCO.

Partner Organizations:

  • The Guillermo Cano Isaza Foundation (Colombia)
  • the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland)
  • Namibia Media Trust
  • Democracy and Media Foundation Stichting Democratie and Media

Benefits and Financial Aids

The UNESCO-Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize, valued at $25,000, is accompanied by a certificate and a symbolic object representing the award.

All costs related to the Prize, including the award ceremony and public information activities, are covered by the Cano Foundation and other donors.

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates should meet these requirements:

  • Candidates must have significantly contributed to press freedom globally, representing all media types, including digital media.
  • Individuals, institutions, other entities, or non-governmental organizations may receive conferred prizes.

Required Documents

Nominations, submitted by governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions and international and regional professional and non-governmental organizations, must include:

  • Each nomination shall be with a written recommendation, including in English, French, or another language
  • Description of the candidate’s background and achievements.
  • The candidate contributes major importance to the promotion of freedom of the press.
  • The candidate defines their contribution to the Prize’s objectives.
  • High-resolution photo portrait of the candidate.

Selection Process

The selection process will be as follows:

  • The Director-General of UNESCO selects the Prize winner based on assessments and recommendations from the independent international Jury.
  • The Jury consists of six members representing different media types from each of the six UNESCO-defined regions.
  • The UNESCO Director-General appoints the President of the Jury.
  • The Jury electronically conducts deliberations in English and French, with decisions made by agreement or, if necessary, by secret vote.

Nomination Process

In consultation with their National Commissions and regional and international professional and non-governmental organizations active in journalism and freedom of expression, governments of Member States shall submit nominations to the Director-General. The consideration of self-nomination is not allowed.

Nominations are acceptable by post only to the Secretariat of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize by 15 February 2024.


For more information, contact unesco-cano-prize@unesco.org or visit UNESCO’s official website.


Check More Awards:

Planet Forward Storyfest Awards 2024 for Students

Yidan Prize 2024 for Education Research and Development Worldwide (HK$30 million)

TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting 2024 ($10,000)


Other opportunities you may like