STARTS Prize of the European Commission 2024 in Austria (Prize: €20,000)

Competition Grant / Award in Art and Humanities , in Natural Science , in Technology
  • Austria, Austria
  • Apply Before : March 1, 2024

Opportunity Details

  • Opportunity ID 99730
  • Degree Non Degree Program/Certificate
  • Language Requirement Not Required
  • No. of Opportunity 2
  • Fields of study Science, Technology, and Arts
  • Opportunity Type : Fully Funded
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Language of Instruction English
  • Application Fee Required No

Opportunity Description

Submissions for the STARTS Prize 2024 are now open to entrants worldwide. Two winning projects, each with €20,000 in prize money, will benefit from the program for the academic year 2024.

STARTS Prize is an initiative of the European Commission launched by Ars Electronica and the association partners, including BOZAR, INOVA+, Frankfurter Buchmesse, T6 Ecosystems, Waag, and French Tech Grande Provence. Since 2016, the Prize has honored over 200 projects out of 14291 submissions from 96 countries. A total of €320,000 in monetary Prize has been allocated and distributed in the S+T+ARTS Prize competition.

STARTS Prize appreciates the most ground-breaking innovations and collaborations resulting in the interaction of science and technology with the arts. Moreover, Science, Technology, and Arts (STARTS) has been launched to honor creativity and invention innovations and enhance the alliance of technology and artistic practice.

It also demonstrates that the role of artists is not only about spreading scientific and technological skills and knowledge among the general public but also acting as a catalyst to inspire innovation processes.

The Prize focuses on artistic works that change and influence the world’s visions toward technology and on an innovative partnership between the ICT sector and the art and culture world.

Brief Details

  • Application Starts: 9 January 2024
  • Submission Deadline: 01 March 2024
  • Jury Sessions: 25 – 28 April 2024
  • Notification of Results: Mid-June 2024
  • Ceremony Date: September 2024
  • Ceremony Location: At the Ars Electronica Festival 2024 in Linz, Austria
  • Funded By: European Commission
  • Organizer: Arts Electronica and Group of Partners
  • Number of Prizes: 2
  • Eligible Countries: All
  • Fields: Science, Technology, and Arts

STARTS Prize Details

  • There are two prizes, each with €20,000 prize money.
  • The organizers are honoring innovative projects at the intersection of science, technology, and the arts.
  • Prizewinners supported in presenting their work at the 2024 Ars Electronica Festival in Linz, Austria.

Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration:

    • Honors innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the artistic (and creative) sectors.
    • Focuses on opening up new avenues for innovation.

Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration:

    • Honors artistic research and works.
    • Acknowledges potential to influence or change technology use, application, or perception.

What to Submit?

Applicants should prepare and submit the following:

  • Pioneering collaborations and projects are lying on both technology and the arts. Purely artistic or technologically driven projects are of little relevance to this competition;
  • All forms of artistic works and practices with a solid connection to innovation in technology, business, or society;
  • Art stimulates all technological and scientific research and development or involves artists as catalysts of fresh thinking.
  • The Prize Jury welcomes submissions from various fields and disciplines, such as projects from new media applications, machine learning, biotechnology, art and science, human-computer interaction, green technologies, smart cities, citizen empowerment, material research, robotics, quantum technology, etc. Find previous years’ nominations here for inspiration.

Eligibility Criteria 

Applicants applying for STARTS Prize 2024 must meet the following set of requirements:

  • Both individuals and organizations who have made significant innovations and meet the criteria can apply for the Prize;
  • Artists, innovative professionals, researchers, or companies involved from all over the world can enter the competition;
  • An EU or non-EU-member state or from any field;
  • An artist can submit more than one work;
  • Prepare their picture and text material carefully so that the Prix Ars Electronica and partners can use it as a catalog, DVD, CD, on their website, or for any communication purpose;


  • Submission is free of charge;
  • Submitted projects must be at most two years. If so, it must include a substantial update or any development within the last two years;
  • At submission time, each project must be completed or at a stage so that the jury can assess its quality and the possibility of its successful implementation.

Evaluation Criteria

The jury will evaluate the submissions against the following criteria:

  • Quality of the artistic research and its potential impact on technology;
  • Excellence and success of the cooperation between art and technology;
  • Quality and strength of the relevance to innovation, education, social inclusion, or sustainability;
  • Quality and implementation of the European Dimension of the project;
  • General norms include aesthetics, uniqueness, reasonable concept, creativity, and the quality and technique of the presentation.

Material Required

Applicants should submit the following documents and materials:

  • A video documentary (about 3 minutes long);
  • Images must be in JPG, TIF, BMP, and PNG formats at the highest possible resolution;
  • Compressed files such as .zip or .lzh formats are not acceptable;
  • A clear, comprehensive description of the artistic concept, the form of interaction, and technical implementation;
  • A portrait photo and a biography of the artist;
  • Additional material such as images, documents, and drawings (as PNG or PDF);

Note: Applicants should only submit irreplaceable originals physically if they are returnable.

Jury Process

Please read the following criteria:

Nomination through Prix Ars Electronica Categories:

  • Projects submitted to Prix Ars Electronica categories align with S+T+ARTS Prize criteria.
  • Juries nominate projects from these categories for the S+T+ARTS Prize.

Nomination through EU Prize for Citizen Science:

  • Projects submitted for the EU Prize for Citizen Science are considered for the S+T+ARTS Prize.
  • Juries nominate projects for the S+T+ARTS Prize.


  • S+T+ARTS Prize Jury judges all eligible projects.
  • Select 30 finalist projects.
  • Chooses two prize-winning projects and up to ten honorary mentions.
  • Jury includes distinguished figures from business, science, and the arts.
  • Each jury member may nominate additional works.

How to Submit?

Entrants can submit their entries online via the link below.


Submit Here



For more information about the STARTS Prize and the features of a successful entry, please refer to the STARS Prize 2024 website or read the detailed page.

Check More Opportunities: 

Harvard GSD Wheelwright Prize 2024 for Early-Career Architects

The Kofi Annan NextGen Democracy Prize for 2024 (Prize of USD 10,000)

UNESCO-Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2024

UNAI Millennium Oceans Prize 2024-2025

Other opportunities you may like