Livingston Awards 2022 for Young Journalists Worldwide ($10,000 prize)

Competition Grant / Award in Art and Humanities , in Social Science
  • Apply Before : March 1, 2022

Opportunity Details

  • Opportunity ID 82233
  • Degree Non Degree Program/Certificate
  • Language Requirement Not Required
  • Opportunity Type : Fully Funded
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Language of Instruction English
  • Application Fee Required No

Opportunity Description

About the award

Applications are now open for the Livingston Awards 2022 in Journalism. The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists were established to honor, worldwide, exquisite reporting and bolster the careers of journalists under the age of 35. Furthermore, winning the award is a nonesuch opportunity for talented young reporters to build confidence and institutional support to continue producing stimulating projects.

Richard M. Clurman Award

In addition to Livingston Award, the Richard M. Clurman Award honors excellent on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by epitomizing excellence in fostering, appraising, and stimulating young journalists. The Clurman Award is presented alongside the annual Livingston Awards winners.


The submission deadline for Livingston Award: 1 February 2022

Deadline to nominate a journalism mentor for the Clurman award: 1 March 2022

Awarding institution: University of Michigan, Wallace House

Notification of finalists: April 1, 2022

Result announcement: June 2022


The awards include prizes of $10,000 in three categories: local, national, and international reporting. Prizes are awarded directly to the winners, not the organization to which they are affiliated.

Eligibility criteria

  • Candidates must be 34 years old or younger as of December 31, 2021.
  • Several bylines are eligible, but all must meet the age criteria.
  • Each entrant can only enter one entry, which can be a single piece or a maximum of three pieces either from a published series, an original piece, and its follow-up developments or three pieces clearly arranged together in a beat. All pieces of the series must be published by the same organization.
  • There is no limit to the number of entries that a media entity can submit, providing that they enter only one entry per reporter.
  • Individuals may apply on their own, or their organization can enter on their behalf.
  • Print, online, video, audio, and data visualization work is eligible. Still photography is ineligible.
  • The work must appear in U.S. controlled media; however, entrants do not have to be U.S. nationals necessarily.
  • Entries must bear a direct relation to ongoing events or include new information about old events. Features and commentary are eligible.
  • Submissions must include materials prepared in the ordinary course of the journalist’s professional production. Materials produced by journalists specifically for submission to the Livingston Awards do not qualify.
  • Student media are ineligible.
  • Competition is open to the work published or appearing during the calendar year ending December 31, 2021.
  • And, winners will participate in an outreach event arranged by the Livingston Awards.


The UM’s panel of judges who share a long-time commitment to the program and enjoy high recognition for their accomplishments in journalism selects the winners.

How to apply?

Applicants can apply online and submit their entries. The Livingston Awards invites print, online, video, audio, and data visualization entries.

Apply now

Nominate your mentor for the Clurman Award here.

For more comprehensive details, conditions, and required documents for upload, go through the main link.

For the latest opportunities, please check our new website:

Application is closed.

Other opportunities you may like