2025 Global Pluralism Award ($CAD 150,000)

Competition Grant / Award in Social Science
  • Canada, Canada
  • Apply Before : May 17, 2024

Opportunity Details

  • Opportunity ID 18409
  • Degree Non Degree Program/Certificate
  • Language Requirement Not Required
  • No. of Opportunity 3
  • Fields of study Pluralism
  • Opportunity Type : Partially Funded
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Language of Instruction EnglishFrench
  • Application Fee Required No

Opportunity Description

The Global Center for Pluralism awards the Global Pluralism Award once every two years to celebrate achievement and excellence in pluralism. This award is granted to individuals, organizations, governments, and businesses from any nation worldwide. Awardees’ exceptional and enduring achievements contribute to building more inclusive communities where human diversity matters.

The Global Pluralism Award, supported by TD Bank Group, is presented by the Global Centre for Pluralism. Founded by His Highness the Aga Khan and the Government of Canada, the Centre promotes pluralism’s transformative impact worldwide, collaborating with policymakers, educators, and community leaders.

About the Center

The Global Center for Pluralism, a Canada-based international research and education center, presents these awards with the aim of:

  • Raising the global profile of pluralism, defined as a principle of reverence for diversity,
  • Determining and disseminating ground-breaking and successful approaches to pluralism internationally and
  • Featuring and raising the profile of remarkable organizations, people, or other entities attempting to further pluralism.

Quick Details

  • Submission Deadline: May 17, 2024 (5:00 pm EST)
  • Submission Processing and Initial Screening: June – September 2024
  • Shortlist Selection: March 2025
  • Jury Meeting: March 2025
  • Site Visits to Finalists: May – June 2025
  • Public Announcement: September – October 2025
  • Award Ceremony: Late 2025
  • Location: Ottawa, Canada
  • Awarding Institution: Global Center for Pluralism
  • Number of Awards: 3
  • Eligible Country: All

Award Value and Benefit

Following are the details of the award:

  • Three Award winners will split a $150,000 (CAD) prize pool equally, receiving CAD 50,000 each.
  •  Each winner and up to seven honorable mention recipients or their delegates will attend the Award ceremony in late 2025.
  • Apart from the monetary prize, the Centre will collaborate with winners and honorable mentions in 2026, offering in-kind support like communications assistance, event collaboration, and engagement in the Centre’s research and educational initiatives.

Who is Eligible for the Global Pluralism Award?

The following are the eligibility criteria:

Eligible Candidates:

  • Individuals (e.g., artists, journalists, academics, policymakers, filmmakers, etc.)
  • Civil society organizations (e.g., professional associations, faith-based organizations, labor unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organizations, foundations, think tanks, etc.)
  • Social enterprises
  • Corporations (public or private)
  • Educational, research, and policy institutions (public or private)
  • Local/municipal, regional, or federal/national branches or agencies of government

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Candidates must live; the Award cannot be given posthumously (after the death)
  • Candidates may not have previously applied for the Award more than once.
  • Candidates must not have previously received the Global Pluralism Award or an honorable mention.
  • Candidates must not be directly associated with the Centre’s founding partners, the Government of Canada, and the Aga Khan Development Network. However, partner or grantee organizations of these entities are eligible.
  • Candidates must not be members of the Jury, the Centre’s Board or staff, a Centre’s Director emeritus, a former juror, or a consultant receiving remuneration from the Centre at the time of nomination. Also, close relations and organizations owned or operated by these individuals are ineligible.
  • Candidates must not have been found guilty of committing violent crimes, terrorism, or other criminal activities or have publicly held extremist views.

Selection Process

An international jury of independent experts will review submissions considering the following criteria:

Relevance to pluralism:

  • Demonstrated exceptional and sustained contribution to pluralism, defined as embracing diversity for more just and peaceful societies.
  • Recognition and respect for diversity across various dimensions such as race, ethnicity, religion, culture, etc.
  • Embracing pluralism beyond mere inclusion leads to recognition, belonging, and full participation of every individual.
  • Enrichment of lives, communities, and institutions through diverse perspectives and ideas.


  • Focus on direct outcomes of individual or organizational activities.
  • Clear connection to pluralism outcomes.
  • Progress in improving inclusion across various sectors like economy, society, culture, etc.
  • Long-term sustainability likelihood.


  • Demonstrated commitment to inclusion of diverse individuals across various sectors.
  • Adoption of equality and diversity policies and practices for institutions.
  • Defense and support of pluralism principles in professional and personal lives for individuals.
How Do I Apply/Nominate?
Below are the step-by-step guides for candidates and nominators:
Submission Process for Candidates:
  • Step 1: Create an online profile and complete the “Candidate Form”.
  • Step 2: Submit the completed form by May 17, 2024, 5:00 pm ET.
  • Step 3: Receive a confirmation email.

Submission Process for Nominators:

  • Step 1: Create an online profile and complete the “Nominator Form”.
  • Step 2: The Centre notifies the candidate of nomination.
  • Step 3: Candidate completes Candidate Form.
  • Step 4: Submit the completed form by May 17, 2024, 5:00 pm ET.
  • Step 5: Both the candidate and the nominator receive a confirmation email.
Apply or Nominate




  • Submissions are accepted directly from candidates or through third-party nominations.
  • The jury considers all submissions regardless of type.
  • Submissions are only accepted in English and French.
  • Contact: award@pluralism.ca for inquiries.


Please read the Global Center for Pluralism’s website for more information about the award or review the official call for details.


Check More Awards:

Bocconi Graduate Merit Awards in Italy for 2024/25

TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize (4,000 USD Cash Award)

Singapore International Graduate Award (SINGA) 2024 for Ph.D. Studies

The UK Unicorn Kingdom: Pathfinder Awards 2024 for Technology-Led Businesses

Other opportunities you may like