Call for Application: The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards (400,000 Euros)

Competition Grant / Award in Art and Humanities , in Business and Law , in Education and Languages , in Engineering , in Medicine , in Natural Science , in Social Science Email Opportunity
  • Share:

Opportunity Details

  • Degree Non Degree Program/Certificate
  • Language Requirement Not Required
  • Opportunity Type : Fully Funded
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Language of Instruction English
  • Opportunity ID 98329
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links

Opportunity Description

Introductory information

Nominations are now open for the 2021 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards. The awards honor remarkable contributions and world-class research in a wide array of fields of scientific knowledge, technology, humanities, and artistic productions by excellent individuals or organizations. The BBVA Foundation in collaboration with the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) is organizing this award.  Hence, if you are one of those, you couldn’t wait to apply for the 14th edition of these awards.

Award details

Nomination period: January 1, 2021- June 30, 2021 (11:00 GMT)

Awarding body: BBVA Foundation 

Country: Spain

Award decision: April 30, 2022

Award value and other prizes

The awards comprise 400,000 euros, a diploma, and a commemorative artwork in each of the eight award categories.

If more than one person wins the award, its monetary amount will be divided equally among all awardees.

Award ceremony

The Frontiers Awards will be presented at a formal ceremony to be organized during June 2022 in the Euskalduna Conference Centre, Bilbao. A gala concert will also take place the evening before at the same venue.

Award categories

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards categories are:

  1. Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  2. Biology and Biomedicine
  3. Information and Communication Technologies
  4. Ecology and Conservation Biology
  5. Climate Change
  6. Economics, Finance, and Management
  7. Humanities and Social Sciences
  8. Music and Opera


  • Candidates may be of any nationality worldwide.
  • Nominees may be one person or more natural people without limitation of number, but no candidate can be nominated in more than one category.
  • Candidates must have made independent or convergent contributions to a defined advance, whether because of a formal partnership (with the nominees relating to one or more groups) or parallel working.
  • Scientific or cultural organizations can also apply for the award and can be collectively credited with excellent contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the battle against climate change.
  • Award winners must agree to attend the awarding ceremony. In the case of awards going to teams, there will be no more than three representatives of the team members to attend the ceremony.
  • Awards may not be conferrable posthumously.


Candidates should be nominated by eligible nominators as per the category and such as the following. Self-nomination is not acceptable.

Any scientific or cultural organization or institution can nominate applicants, following their own internal procedures. Among them:

  • Scientific or artistic societies and institutions
  • National and regional academies of science or culture
  • Public or private R&D centers
  • University schools, departments or institutes, and research or teaching institutes
  • Hospital departments and biomedical research centers
  • Schools of music
  • Orchestras, orchestra associations, opera theaters, and opera associations
  • Public agencies and supranational, national, or regional organizations significantly engaged in analysis and/or activities related to climate change
  • Other scientific, cultural, and environmental organizations

Winners of the Nobel Prize, as well as previous winners of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards in any of its categories, are also eligible to nominate.

Also, researchers and cultural creators that have made extraordinary contributions in their respective fields, establishing consultative or advisory panels in this regard may also nominate.

You may be interested to apply for similar awards/competitions:

How to submit an entry for the prize?

All nominations have to be submitted through the nomination form online. And, nominations and the accompanying documents must all be in English. Nominators are recommended to read the nomination instructions here.

Nominate Now


The nominating organization or individual must present the following information and documentation:

  1. Award category for which the applicant is nominated
  2. Name of the nominating institution and officer/body, with the equivalent contact data (postal and email address, plus landline and mobile numbers)
  3. A signed letter of nomination form the nominating officer/body
  4. Candidate details including institutional affiliation and contact data
  5. An explanation of the prominent contributions of the candidate and convincing arguments for the nomination (max. three pages, single-spaced)
  6. Candidate’s curriculum vitae

For more comprehensive details about the award including the terms and selection process and/or criteria, you may visit the BBVA Foundation’s website.

Sponsored Links

Other opportunities you may like